Concert in Regensburg

15 May 2016
Basilika St. Emmeram, Emmeramsplatz, Regensburg, Germany
Tage Alter Musik Regensburg
Box Office Tel. +49 941 704 00 72 Email:


Rachel Podger, director & violin

The European Union Baroque Orchestra performs with violinist Rachel Podger, one of the world’s leading baroque music interpreters, a concert programme reflecting the explosion in music publishing and the impact of new printing methods in the early years of the 18th century and highlighting an Anglo-Dutch angle with much of the music published in 1716 by Roger (Amsterdam, b.1666) and by Walsh (London, b.1666), whose techniques initiated the revolution in accessibility to music across Europe, with new technologies, new enterprises, and creating new audiences. The programme celebrates the diversity and creativity made possible in the 18th century by the free movement across borders of artists, culture and music. The repertoire features a solo violin concerto from Vivaldi’s L’estro Armonico performed by Rachel Podger.


Concert programme

JB LULLY (1632-1687) Overture and dances from Phaëton

T ALBINONI (1671-1751) Concerto in C for 3 violins, strings and basso continuo, Op 10 No 3

GF HANDEL (1685-1759) Concerto grosso in B flat, Op 3 No 1, HWV 312

UW VAN WASSENAER (1692-1766) Concerto Armonico for 4 violins No 3 in A

A VIVALDI (1678-7141) Violin Concerto in E, Op 3 No 12, RV 265 (from L’estro armonico)

GF HANDEL Concerto Grosso in C, HWV 318 (from Alexander’s Feast)

NB. no interval


To find out more about Tage Alter Musik Regensburg go to